More bus routes introduced – Tuticorin

Initially, TNSTC plans four trips a day to Sivaganga

Tuticorin: To suit the requirements of passengers, three new bus routes to various destinations including Sivaganga, Paramakudi and Rameshwaram from Tuticorin district were launched here on Thursday.

P. Geetha Jeevan, Social Welfare Minister, flagged off the services at the new bus station of Tuticorin in the presence of Collector C.N. Maheswaran.

Buses bound for Sivaganga from Tuticorin will cover a distance of 153 kms via Kurukusalai, Kulathur, Vaipar, Surangudi, Vembar, Sayalgudi, Kamuthi and Manamadurai.

Initially, Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (TNSTC) has decided to schedule four trips a day to Sivaganga.

The buses would reach the destination in four hours, covering a distance of 160 kms. Subsequently, buses would ply between Tuticorin and Paramakudi in 4.15 hours via Kurukkusalai, Kulathur, Vaipar, Surangudi, Vembar, Sayalgudi, Kadalaadi and Muthukulathoor. Buses between these two stations would ply four trips a day, S. Murugan, TNSTC General Manager, , Tirunelveli region, said.

Another bus route from Kovilpatti to Rameshwaram was also launched. Buses bound for Rameshwaram would travel through Kayathar, Ettayapuram, Vilathikulam, Surangudi, Vembar, Sayalgudi, Erwadi, Keelakarai, Ramanthapuram and Mandapam in 6.45 hours. Two trips would be made operational between these two stations, he added.

More importantly, the frequency of buses plying to Madurai from Tuticorin, particularly on National Highway, would be increased.

Passengers were expressing satisfaction over journey by Bypass Riders from Tuticorin to reach their destination in just 2.45 hours. So, the frequency would be doubled shortly, Mr. Murugan said.

Source: The Hindu

More from Dinakaran: – Thanks DolphinTuti – SSC for translation

New routes in Ecr was flagged of by the social welfare minister Geetha Jeeva District collector , Tnstc Divisonal Manager and local party people. at a simple function in Thoothukudi New Busstand

New 3 routes

Tiruchendur – Thoothukudi – Paramakudi

Via Kulathoor, Sayalkudi, Kadaladi , Mudhukulathoor.

Depart at Tuticorin 06:10, 16:00 to Paramakudi

Tiruchendur – Thoothukudi – Sivgangai

Via Kulathoor, Sayalkudi, Kamuthi, Manamadurai.

Depart at Tuticorin 05:00, 13:45 to Sivagangai

Kovilpatti – Rameswaram

Via Vilathilulam, Sayalkudi, Keelakarai, Ramanathapuram

Depart at Kovilpatti 08:20

In this 5 yrs Period 162 new routes were introduced, 70 routes got extended and 40 new routes will be implemented very soon.

This entry was posted by TNSTC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: